Administration of City Elections

The City Clerk is the Chief Elections Officer of the City and conducts all city elections.

Date of Elections

Notice of upcoming election: 2021 Election Notice English  2021 Election Notice Spanish/Espanol

 City elections are always held on the first Tuesday in April.
  • Next Election, Tuesday, April 6, 2021
  • Past Election, Tuesday, April 7, 2020


There will be two seats up for election on April 6, 2021. 


  • Seat 2, District 19 currently held by Commissioner Curtis Gibson
  • Seat 4, District 27 currently held by Commissioner Goldstein

These seats are for three year terms. Qualifying will be from February 15, 2021 at noon and end February 19, 2021 at noon.

Candidates must have been a resident of Lake Wales for a year and live in the district they wish to represent. Candidates for Seat 2 must live in District 19 and Candidates for Seat 4 must live in District 27. All seats are voted for at-large or by all Lake Wales voters. 

Charter Amendments on the 2021 Ballot

There will be 7 proposed Amendments to the City Charter on the 2021 Ballot.
Here is the list. Charter Amendments 2021

Here is the sample ballot for 2021: 2021 Sample Ballot

Past Election Results

Polling Place

The polling place for City elections for precincts 523, 527, 528, 530, 531,532 and 542 is:
James Austin Community Center
315 Dr. M. L. King Jr., Blvd.
Lake Wales, FL 33853

The polling place for City elections for precincts 519, 524, and 526 is:
Lake Ashton Clubhouse
4141 Ashton Club Dr.
Lake Wales, FL 33859
Polls will be open from 7:00 A.M. - 7:00 P.M. April 6, 2021
Bring photo ID.

To register to vote or to sign up to Vote By Mail contact the Supervisor of Elections
All registered voters residing in the city will vote for City Commission, at these locations regardless of where they vote in county, state, or national elections.

Here is a map of the different districts. District Map 2012